Quick Links

Darryl E. Owens on the set of A World of Difference1

By Beacon Staff

Beacon College added new hardware to its trophy case after its “A World of Difference” television show collected three awards in the 43rd Annual Telly Awards.

The Telly Awards honors excellence in video and television across all screens. The competition is judged by leaders from video platforms, television, streaming networks, production companies and including Adobe, Netflix, Dow Jones, Duplass Brothers Productions, Complex Networks, Jennifer Garner, A&E Networks, Hearst Media, Nickelodeon, ESPN Films, RYOT, Partizan and Vimeo.

telly silver award “A World of Difference” celebrates neurodiversity and empowers families rearing children with learning and attention issues on their journeys from kindergarten through college. Produced by Beacon College in Leesburg, Florida, America’s first accredited baccalaureate institution dedicated to educating students with learning and attention issues, the program was saluted in these categories:

“Now, more than ever, it is necessary to celebrate video work that reflects the top tier of our industry, such as ‘A World of Difference,’” said Sabrina Dridje, executive director of the Telly Awards. “This year’s submissions reflect an industry that has returned to the important work of storytelling, one that has returned with a new perspective that values innovation, agility, equity, and tenacious creativity.”

Darryl E. Owens, director of communication at Beacon College and creator and host of “A World of Difference,” chalked up the national recognition to his team’s hard work and the primacy of diversity as a social justice issue.

“Winning a single Telly — let alone three — in competition with thousands of talented content creators and media and communications Goliaths is a testament both to the hard work the “A World of Difference” team puts into the show and also the immediacy and importance of diversity, equity, and inclusion issues that AWOD explores through the lens of neurodivergence,” Owens said.

Last year, The Telly Awards attracted more than 12,000 entries from top video content producers including Netflix, Jennifer Garner, HBO Latin America, Microsoft, RadicalMedia, Condé Nast, Adobe, Nickelodeon, and Partizan.

The full list of the 43rd Annual Telly Awards winners can be found here.